top of page
Search

Imagineering In A Box Review

Imagineers: Disney’s creative team and engineers behind the masterpiece we call the Disney company. Many die-hard Disney fans are awed and inspired by them (anyone get my “Gaston” reference?) and always want to know more about them. For the most part, Disney has kept them very secret, although now they are releasing more content like “The Imagineering Story” on Disney+ and even a tour through the Imagineering Studios on YouTube! This is any Disney fanatic’s dream. But what if I told you there’s a way to be taught be Imagineer’s yourself?


In 2019, Disney teamed up with Khan Academy, a popular online website teaching different STEM topics, to create Imagineering in a Box. There are three lessons, with six to ten exercises per lesson. And before each exercise, you have Imagineers (think Joe Rhode, creator of Animal Kingdom, and other amazing Imagineers) explaining their process and what you should do to create your own versions of their work!

Lesson one talks all about creating worlds all the way from the layout to the smells. Then, they help you create your own world along the way! Lesson two teaches you how to design and make attractions for your land and how they get their iconic rides we all love so much. Lesson three finished off with making characters and all the details of that. The best thing about this course is it’s completely free and approved by Disney!

Imagineering In A Box Screenshot


When I heard about this course, I immediately jumped at the chance and signed up. I have been fully obsessed with all things Disney since I was thirteen, specifically all the behind the scenes stuff. I was lucky enough to get to go to the Imagineering Studios and have wanted to become an Imagineer ever since (want to hear that story? Click here

and I’ll tell you). I am not very far into the course but have started designing my own land. Ironically, it is the Kingdom of Corona from Tangled. I didn’t want to be "that person" but I had too many ideas to pass up the opportunity. And of course, I had to tell all of you once I started, especially because I feel it isn't widely known. So far, I’ve loved this course! It truly is a unique opportunity to learn about the reality behind your magic and create your own magic.


I fully recommend this to anyone and everyone. Even if you think you’re not creative but love Disney, try it. You’ll at least be able to watch the videos of Imagineers if you’re not doing the exercises. Plus, it’s free! The one thing I will say that’s not as great is it’s very time-consuming. I started it a month ago and planned on finishing it before this post. Well, since I haven’t had the time to do it regularly, that hasn’t happened. Despite this, I truly love this course and think every Disney parks fan should try to help make their day as magical as it can be!


If you want to star Imagineering In A Box for yourself, click here!


0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page