top of page
Search

Have a Disney Parks Day while in Quarantine

Updated: Jun 16, 2020

We are currently amidst of the COVID-19 pandemic and due to this, the Disney theme parks around the world are closed. The only resort open is Shanghai Disneyland and Walt Disney World has opened Disney Springs (the actual theme parks of WDW are opening in July). If you’re like us and live in the U.S., that means we still can’t get into the theme parks to get our Disney fix for a bit. Since we don’t know when we would be able to get back to the parks, I decided to take matters into my own hands and throw myself a Disney Day, Quarantine style! This included Disney food, attractions, games, and more!


Attractions

First off, let’s start with attractions. You simply cannot have a Disney Day without attractions! I picked out my favorite Disney rides and started planning our day. First, we went to Magic Kingdom. We started our day by going to the Jungle Cruise. Now, because I am kinda crazy, I even planned on “waiting in lines”. This means we played games on the Play Disney Parks app and paused the video. I also tried to find videos with the line in them so we could get the whole experience. Next, we went to Splash Mountain (and played their new game on the app while waiting in line) and then Peter Pan’s Flight. Finally, we finished off with The People Mover before heading on out to Epcot. This is an example of how we did our day.


View from Tomorrowland PeopleMover


I would consider a few things when choosing what attractions you have. Think about what parks you want to go to and what your favorite rides are there. In my Disney Day, we went to all Walt Disney World parks and even went to both parks at Disneyland! When you’re at home, anything’s possible. I got all my attraction videos off of YouTube and made a document on my computer with the order we would do everything as well as the link. This was very helpful to make sure the day went smoothly and I had the right videos. Finally, I would choose rides that aren’t in complete darkness and watch the videos first before your day starts. This way, you can make sure the quality is good and there aren’t too many ads. I have already done all this work for some rides so if you want to see the videos I chose, click here!


Food

Of course, if you’re going to Disney you have to get the best food. So, I picked out some of my favorite Disney meals! For breakfast, we had the iconic Mickey Waffles and bacon. We weren’t able to get the ingredients for the actual thing but there are recipes out there for the real deal. For lunch, we had Jiko’s Mac n’ Cheese. Although ours was a little bit of a fail, it still reminded us of Disney. Finally, we had Walt Disney’s Chili for dinner. We got this recipe from a Disney cookbook and it was the recipe the Disney family had to make Walt’s favorite dish. Oh, and I can’t forget about getting a Disney Snack! We chose Jack Jack’s Num Num Cookies. We had never had them in the parks before but got an AMAZING copycat recipe. They’re my new favorite cookie! Want to see the recipes for yourself? You can find them here.


Jack Jack's Num Num Cookies


Other Activities

There are a few other more random things we had throughout our day. For example, we watched a few shows. We watched the Festival of Fantasy Parade, the Happily Ever After Fireworks Show, and the Paint the Night Parade from Disneyland. Thes truly made it feel like we were in Disney and were so much fun! Another thing we did was to fill out Disney Food Blog Brackets. They have put out printable brackets for Disney snacks, attractions, Quick Service, and Table Service locations. I filled them out ahead of time and my family filled them out while I made each meal. If you’re a true Disney fan and can handle the challenge, you can find the link to each bracket here. We also watched the sunrise at one of the Disney Resorts. Akfasso on YouTube has made beautiful videos of the morning and sun rising at many of the Disney Resorts. Again, you can find her Playlist here.


Disney Food Blog Bracket


Of course, we had to have some at-home solutions to make sure we get the whole experience. First off, we dressed as if we were going to the parks and took a picture. Mickey Ears, pins, traditional outfits, etc. I also set up our oil diffusers and put on some Disney Parks oil scents to get us in the mood. Many different companies sell them and help get us in a good mood. Of course, we also had to look back at our old trips through photo albums to help remember the good times. Finally, I went a little overboard by dragging out of old misting fan from Disney to enhance our ride experience. Whenever we went on a water ride, we got wet and on a roller coaster, we felt the wind in our hair. Call it extra but it certainly was fun.


So, do you feel prepared to throw your own Disney Day? I hope this was helpful to get you inspired and remember, you can still have Disney Magic in your home. If you need extra help, feel free to email us at the.charming.sisters1971@gmail.com. We would also love to see your Disney Day so let us know how it goes! Finally, if you want to see Amanda’s plan and get all the links she used, click here. This really shows that even in the darkest of times, Disney truly still helps make our lives magical!

6 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page